Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I am totally crazy for insalata caprese! In any place, at any time of day, in any weather and as any course. In fact, as idioms go, if I was a horse, caprese would be my course. As I eat this VERY often, I have started experimenting with variations and disguises to keep the suspicion of those close to me at bay. No, I am not addicted, and no, we are not having caprese for lunch again…. we are having slow roasted tomatoes and prosciutto with basil and mozzarella! See where I am going with this?

Serves 2 as a main and 4 as a starter

4 vine ripened tomatoes, at room temperature
2 stickes rosemary
Extra virgin olive oil, for drizzling
Salt and pepper
100 ml balsamic vinegar or 50 ml balsamic reduction
150 g FRESH buffalo or cows milk (bocconcini,fior di latte or bodini) mozzarella, sliced or torn
4 tsp basil pesto ( princess pesto is my favourite)
Lots of fresh basil
70 g prosciutto/parma ham

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celsius. Slice a cross into the base of the tomatoes and place on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper and top with rosemary. Bake for 60 minutes, till tomatoes are soft.

Make a vinegar reduction by bringing to a simmer the vinegar. Cook for about 12-14 minutes till it reached a syrupy consistency and has reduced by half. Otherwise use store bought balsamic reduction.

Once the tomatoes are roasted, remove from oven to cool slightly. Plate by arranging some basil on the plate, top with tomatoes, ham, mozzarella and pesto. Drizzle with some olive oil and balsamic reduction and enjoy!

